Egerton, KU and UoN Qualify for the second round of #CampusBattleKE

Auctioneers at Egerton University

Egerton University, Kenyatta University and the University of Nairobi are some of the public varsities that qualified for the inaugural TCLM UNIVERSITY TWITTER CHAMPIONSHIP.

The TCLM University Twitter Championship is a a Twitter-based competition by The Campus Lady Magazine aimed at finding the university with the highest representation on Twitter.

The competition was launched on Friday 7th June 2019 with a total of 62 Kenyan private and public universities participating in the inaugural competition.

Twitter users were given 24 hours to vote for their favorite campus and 32 universities progressed to the second round.

Egerton University progressed with ease from Group A with 74% of the total votes. Kiriri Women’s University of Science and Technology came in a distant second with 13% of the votes thus qualifying for the second round.

Kenyatta University equally sailed through from Group F with 71% of the total votes thrashing Chuka, Machakos and JOOUST. Chuka University qualified to the second round from Group F with a paltry 12% of the vote.

JKUAT was the leading light in Group G with 70% of the vote cruising through to the second round. It was followed to a distant by Daystar University with 17% of the votes.

Over 50% of the Votes

Another public university that garnered over 50% of the vote to qualify was Moi University with 60% of the votes in Group K. The Technical University of Mombasa equally got itself a ticket into the second round with 20% of the votes in Group K.

However, Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology, the University of Nairobi had to fend off stiff competition to qualify from Group I and M respectively. MMUST managed to 47% of the votes in Group I fending off competition from Pwani University and Baraton who shared 40% of the votes equally. UoN on its part managed to secure 45% of the votes in Group M just 3% ahead of Multimedia University with 42% of the votes.

The second round of the competition comes to a conclusion on Monday at 5:00pm. Vote for your campus HERE

Be the first to comment